Dreams of a Journey [Part 3/4]

…continuation of:
Song that made us what we are today [Part 1/4]
Judas Rising [Part 2/4]

Many years ago I met this girl who gave me a CD with a compilation of some of her’s favorite musicians.
This friend of mine rescued me out of the black metal world and gave me new waters to dive in.

Along with movies suggestions like Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie PoulainLes Poupées Russes, The Piano and Cinema Paradiso she also introduced me to some famous composers of those great movies: Yann Tiersen, Mychael Nyman and Ennio Morricone.

Time has passed and we haven’t talked much ever since. Life took us in different directions but her songs never stopped playing. There’s no single week/month I don’t listen to some of the songs I still keep in a folder named after her.

Thanks for Pat Metheny, Jorge Drexler, Charlie Haden, Mychael Nyman, Yann Tiersen, John Mayer and so many others that fill my life with amazing piano melodies, dazzling string musics and beautiful songs.

Now it’s my time to suggest my dear readers to watch (if you haven’t watched it 5 times already) those movies and get those soundtracks:

Cinema Paradiso – Love Theme (Ennio Morricone)

Cinema Paradiso – Love Theme (Pat Metheny & Charlie Haden)
I completely love their acoustic version of this song.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-ZzyY6O0Xc

The Piano – The Heart Asks Pleasure First (Mychael Nyman)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0dPS-EHl-FE

Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie Poulain – La Valse D’Amelie (Yann Tiersen)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dyo4tNwNIvQ

The title of this post is a reference to another Mychael Nyman song called Dreams of a Journey and if you like this instrumental songs as much as I do, also check Pat Metheny and Charlie Haden work or leave me more suggestions on the comment box 🙂

Next post I’ll end this series of “thankful notes” to those who inspired me and influenced me to discover new music genres along the road.

See you soon on “Roads Part[4/4]” 😉

5 comments on “Dreams of a Journey [Part 3/4]

  1. Lourenço says:

    You speak about soundtracks and no reference to John Williams or Howard Shore? At least the master Morricone was mentioned 😛

  2. […] I have another melody from Giuseppe Tornatore‘s Cinema Paradiso. It’s quite similar to the one Pedro posted a couple of months ago, but it’s nonetheless worth listening to. Good […]

  3. Nuno says:

    E dois anos (ou perto disso) depois de teres feito este post, posso dizer que já vi este senhor ao vivo! E daqui a um mês, Yann Tiersen.

    Michael Nyman e John Williams são uns meninos!

Tell us what you think!

