Wrote a song for everyone

Well, today I started my day listening to one of my favourite bands, Creedence Clearwater Revival (CCR). Creedence is one of those bands I grew up listening to through my dad’s singing (if your parents like rock, I am sure it happened the same to you, either with CCR, with the Beatles, with Rolling Stones, or with many others). If you don’t know CCR, they were a band with a five-year career full of Billboard Top 2 hits (they are the artist with most top two hits without ever having a #1) and other nice rock songs, including “Have You Ever Seen the Rain“, “Proud Mary” (yes, Tina Turner’s version is a cover) and Forrest Gump’s “Fortunate Son“.

Creedence’s songs are not sophisticated – they do not have amazing solos or innovative riffs. But they had a great asset – John Fogerty’s voice! His voice is truly unique (maybe, as Lourenço said previously, it is one that you either love or hate, I do not know) and quite emotive. That’s undoubtedly one of the things that makes me love them so much.

I was listening to some of their older (well, they’re all old, but still there are some older than others!) records and I thought of writing another post of cover versions – Creedence have a couple of really nice covers! But then I went to youtube, started watching their Hall of Fame induction, made by Bruce Springsteen, which included a version of CCR’s  “Who’ll Stop the Rain” performed by John Fogerty and Bruce Springsteen, and I gave up the covers idea (maybe I’ll bring it later to the blog).

I usually divide the songs I listen to into two main categories – loud songs ,usually rock or/and cheerful songs, and quiet songs, usually ballads/rock ballad. I gave up the covers idea today because by listening to “Who’ll Stop the Rain” I just felt like listening to the quite-type songs.

Therefore, and constrained to my mood, this post will have two of my favourite CCR’s songs: “Long as I can see the light”, a song that I consider one of the most beautiful songs ever, and a version of the already mentioned “Who’ll Stop the Rain”, live at the Hall of Fame induction ceremony and featuring John Fogerty and Bruce Springsteen. Hope you like it 😉

3 comments on “Wrote a song for everyone

  1. Lourenço says:

    Great! This guys are probably the only thing I stole from your library, although I already loved their long version of “I heard it on the grapevine”. I’m not sure, but I think that John is the only musician to appear both on Rolling Stone’s lists of 100 best guitarists and 100 greatest singers , and I can see (hear) totally why 🙂

  2. nuninho89 says:

    “I heard it through the grapevine” is one of the covers I mentioned, along with “Susie Q” and “I Put a Spell on You”.
    Yes, John Fogerty is the only one making both lists, although with places changed – better singer than guitar player, in my opinion 😛

  3. CallowLea says:

    […] Wrote a song for everyone (cacophoniceuphony.wordpress.com) […]

Tell us what you think!

