Yes, Tolstoi!

Yesterday I was driving home and this song passed in my stereo (not strange, as I had it recorded on the cd :P). It passed me such an intense feeling, soothing and calming me. I found myself singing to the wailing slide guitar of Steve Howe, along with the amazing Jon Anderson, something I failed to do when they played live in Lisbon last year, as they unfortunately didn’t play this song.

This piece of music has probably one of the best melodies I’ve ever heard, as someone said:  “Yes is what God listens to when He needs a break from gospel music.” 🙂

You probably understood the “Yes” on the title of this post, but why Tolstoi? Well, this amazing song is part of a 22-minute suite released in 1975 called The Gates of Delirium. This lengthy suite is loosely based on the novel War and Peace, by Leo Tolstoi, hence my reference. I won’t explain the book here, as I haven’t read it yet (I’m waiting for a friend to come back and lend it to me, right Catarina? :P), but Soon, representing a soothing prayer for peace and hope, is about the aftermath of the battle reported in the book.

Hope you liked it half as much as I love it 😀

4 comments on “Yes, Tolstoi!

  1. pedroganco says:

    This is actually pretty good! I just couldn’t avoid to click the repeat the button once it was finished.

  2. […] Yes, Tolstoi! (cacophoniceuphony.wordpress.com) Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditTwitterPrintFacebookEmailPinterestLinkedInTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. ▶ No Responses /* 0) { jQuery('#comments').show('', change_location()); jQuery('#showcomments a .closed').css('display', 'none'); jQuery('#showcomments a .open').css('display', 'inline'); return true; } else { jQuery('#comments').hide(''); jQuery('#showcomments a .closed').css('display', 'inline'); jQuery('#showcomments a .open').css('display', 'none'); return false; } } jQuery('#showcomments a').click(function(){ if(jQuery('#comments').css('display') == 'none') { self.location.href = '#comments'; check_location(); } else { check_location('hide'); } }); function change_location() { self.location.href = '#comments'; } }); /* ]]> */ […]

  3. […] Yes, Tolstoi! (cacophoniceuphony.wordpress.com) […]

Tell us what you think!

