Astounding Songs, Amazing Covers

With Pedro’s last few posts containing covers by himself or his friends (and also David’s), I decided to show him what real covers are like. No, I’m not making them myself, maybe another time 😛

It is obvious that I’m just messing with him, the covers he posted are very well done, especially considering that they’re home-made. But, when I listen to a cover by a proven artist, I expect to hear something of his own in the version. So, don’t expect to hear here copies note by note, but rather very personal interpretations of some good songs. Some are even better than the originals! But I’ll leave that assessment to you..

I’ll start with a song I thought no one could or would cover, Starless by King Crimson. I came across this version by the Unthanks in Pete Sinfield’s (KC’s old lyricist) facebook page, and I was instantly blown away.
(Covers on the left, originals or most known version on the right) Enjoy 🙂

   
 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

If any of you wants more information regarding the bands on the left, just leave a comment! Most of them have more amazing covers 🙂

9 comments on “Astounding Songs, Amazing Covers

  1. Raiano says:

    Original is usually the best, here are presented some nice covers, but a big faillure is happening, Cash is missing, the king of covers.

    • Lourenço says:

      You’re right! How did I forget Cash? But hey, I couldn’t post all the good covers in only one post, I need material for further posts 😛

  2. Amazing! Some of these music I didnt even know they were covers, like ‘dazed and confused’, others (most of them) I didnt know the cover until u shown me. This is the case of the ‘toccata & fugue’ cover by jacques loussier or ‘still loving you’, by the trio.
    I finish my comment suggesting an also interesting cover made by cash of a nine inch nails’ music ‘hurt’.
    original: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0bZtf5MCzY
    cover: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3aF9AJm0RFc

    • Lourenço says:

      Thanks for the feedback 🙂
      I’m not sure it by your or Miranda’s hand, but I’ve heard that cover before. As I said to him on the previous comment, I’ll leave Johnny Cash to another post along with other nice covers.

  3. Filipa says:

    Is it just me that immediately think about the video collection of “Era uma vez o Homem” when I listen to the first notes of “Toccata And Fugue in D Minor”? 😛
    (Aqui fica a série completa,11 horas!, em Português http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szRyVnRRy98 )
    Loved this post, spent the whole evening listening to these songs.

    • Lourenço says:

      Sorry, I guess it was just you 😛
      Thank you for the feedback, I’m really glad you liked the post. 🙂

      • pedroganco says:

        Wut?? that’s exactly the same entrance of Filipa’s link…. or am I missing the irony.. oh, think about it that must be it xD I won’t erase the comment now =P
        Btw, really nice link Filipa! =D I didn’t know this series was on youtube (and in Portuguese!! =D)

        About your post Lourenço, as always, you just keep on surprising me

        • Lourenço says:

          Of course it is the same piece, but tell me, when you saw my video did it remind you of Era uma vez o homem? That’s what I meant with it was just her =P If it reminded you, then my memory must be getting worse lol

          Thanks Pedro, after all, that’s the whole purpose of this.

  4. […] in my quest for new music. That, or maybe a re-edition of one the posts I enjoyed most doing, Astounding Songs, Amazing Covers (pun […]

Tell us what you think!

