Animal Instinct

Music is undoubtedly one of the best ways to express feelings (and perhaps even to actually feel feelings, if you pardon me the pleonasm). Songs, bring you reminiscences, ideas, they arouse feelings, etc. That’s why no two people have the same musical taste – as different human beings, we have different emotions and we express them in different ways.

One basic emotion that we have (sorry if you’re a prudish person) is sex. And song-writers and musicians have of course not ignored this feeling, writing about it many and many times.

From the funny and cheerful Inner Circle‘s Sweat (A La La Long) to the melodic and “begging” Rolling StonesBeast of Burden, going through the quite explicit nr. 1 Staple SingersLet’s Do It Again or the recent Kings of Leon Sex on Fire, you can see that there is a great amount of good songs on the topic (there are some not so good songs, either).

But regarding the topic I have two that I really like and that I hope you’ll like to, as this is what I bring you today.

Let’s start with Ben Harper‘s cover of Marvin Gaye‘s (perhaps the king of this subject, with songs like You Sure Love to Ball and Let’s Get It On):

And I finish with a song that, despite not being as explicit as the previous ones (or even explicit at all), is sung in a very sexual way, in my opinion. This is probably my Led Zeppelin‘s favourite song, D’yer Mak’er (by the way, if you did not read the wikipedia article, the title is pronounced almost like “Jamaica”):

PS – well, I thought that the post was completed, but then I remembered this song and I had to leave it here, as it is perhaps the most explicit sexual songs that I know. So much that it was banned in our country (Portugal), as well as in many other,  and quite criticized by the Vatican.

PPS – Sorry if I misled you into thinking that this post would be about The Cranberries, but I remembered the name of their song and I thought it would be a good title for this post (I promise I’ll make it up to you later, Cranberries fans, and I’ll make a post about them 😉 ).

7 comments on “Animal Instinct

  1. Lourenço says:

    Nice post. I don’t recall listening to that Zepp song before, and I understand why – I can’t stand reggae besides Bob… Otherwise, pretty good post 🙂

    Oh, and if you wanted explicit, this could have been a good choice looool



    or this


  2. Nuno says:

    Yeah, this one is quite different from the usual Zeppelin sound.

    That first one is quite explicit, indeed!

    • Lourenço says:

      It is, isn’t it? I’m always afraid of listening to the album where it was released, if I’m caught, it may become a bit awkward to explain 😛

  3. pedroganco says:

    Loved your post!
    Let’s Get It On is actually my alarm-clock-song to wake up, every single day.
    You should make a sex-songs-playlist or even a while-doin-it-playlist =P

    @Lorenço: ahah The Jack… nice one! =D

    • Nuno says:

      I considered doing that playlist, but I thought our readers were too tired of the 20-songs post. And this one was not that far from that size…

      • pedroganco says:

        It’s a never ending list…. “Je t’aime..moi non plus” is indeed one of the most remarkable on the subject.
        Yet another great song from John Mayer on topic

  4. […] I discovered two versions in two artists that I have listened to recently: The Cranberries (I did not forget my promise, but it is still not this time) and Dolly Parton (who has already been referenced in this blog due to a cover and an […]

Tell us what you think!

