The Band

American Civil warTo vary things a little, today I’ll post a song not from a band, but from the “The Band“.

Initially a support group of several singers, especially Bob Dylan, they eventually became a band and came out with that name precisely for being “the band” of several frontmen.

I got to know this song I’m posting – The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down – from Joan Baez, and although I have been addicted to her version for a while, and although it was the most successful version, and although I am a fairly good fan of Joan Baez, I think the best version of the song is a live version from “The Band“.

I’ll leave you here both the original and Joan’s cover, but first the first place goes to the version below 😉

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jREUrbGGrgM]
One comment on “The Band

Tell us what you think!

